0
research-article

Summary on the results of two CFD benchmarks of tube and different channel geometries

[+] Author and Article Information
Attila Kiss

Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Institute of Nuclear Techniques 1111, Budapest, Muegyetem rkp. 9., Hungary
kissa@reak.bme.hu

Andrey Churkin

OKB GIDROPRESS 142103, Podolsk, Ordzhonikidze Str. 21., Russian Federation
Churkin@grpress.podolsk.ru

D.S. Pilkhwal

Bhabha Atomic Research Center Trombay, Mumbai - 400 085 India
pilkhwal@barc.gov.in

Abhijeet Mohan Vaidya

Bhabha Atomic Research Center Trombay, Mumbai - 400 085 India
avaidya@barc.gov.in

Walter Ambrosini

University of Pisa Via Diotisalvi, 2, I-56126, Pisa, Italy
walter.ambrosini@unipi.it

Andrea Pucciarelli

University of Pisa Via Diotisalvi, 2, I-56126, Pisa, Italy
andrea.pucciarelli@yahoo.it

Krishna Podila

Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Chalk River, Ontario, Canada, K0J 1J0
krishna.podila@cnl.ca

Yanfei Rao

Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Chalk River, Ontario, Canada, K0J 1J0
yanfei.rao@cnl.ca

Laurence K.H. Leung

Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Chalk River, Ontario, Canada, K0J 1J0
Laurence.Leung@cnl.ca

Yuzhou Chen

China Institute of Atomic Energy P.O. Box 275(59), 102413, Beijing, China
chenyz@ciae.ac.cn, chenyz2015@icloud.com

Mark Anderson

University of Wisconsin-Madison 1500 Engineering Dr., 53706, Madison, WI, USA
manderson@engr.wisc.edu

Meng Zhao

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Institut für Fusionstechnologie und Reaktortechnik (IFRT) Kaiserstraße 12, Gebäude 07.08, 76131 Karlsruhe
meng.zhao@kit.edu

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4038162 History: Received April 30, 2017; Revised September 23, 2017

Abstract

Two Computational Fluid Dynamic (CFD) benchmarks have been performed to assess the prediction accuracy of CFD codes for heat transfer in different geometries. The first benchmark focused on heat transfer to water in a tube (1st benchmark), while the second benchmark covered heat transfer to water in two different channel geometries (2nd benchmark) at supercritical pressures. In the first round with the experimental data unknown to the participants (i.e., blind calculations), CFD calculations were conducted with initial boundary conditions and simpler CFD models. After assessment against measurements, the calculations were repeated with the refined boundary conditions and material properties in the follow-up calculation phase. Overall, the CFD codes seem to be able to capture the general trend of heat transfer in the tube and the annular channel but further improvements are required in order to enhance the prediction accuracy. Finally, sensitivity analyses on the numerical mesh and the boundary conditions were performed. It was found that the prediction accuracy has not been improved with the introduction of finer meshes and the effect of mass flux on the result is the strongest among various investigated boundary conditions.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In