0
research-article

IRSN R&D actions on FP behavior for RCS, containment and FCVS in severe accident conditions

[+] Author and Article Information
Laurent Cantrel

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
laurent.cantrel@irsn.fr

Thierry Albiol

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
thierry.albiol@irsn.fr

Loic Bosland

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
loic.bosland@irsn.fr

Juliette Colombani

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
juliette.colombani@irsn.fr

Frédéric Cousin

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
frederic.cousin@irsn.fr

Anne-Cécile Grégoire

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
anne-cecile.gregoire@irsn.fr

Olivia Leroy

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
olivia.leroy@irsn.fr

Sandrine Morin

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
sandrine.morin@irsn.fr

Christian Mun

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
christian.mun@irsn.fr

Ohnet Marie Noëlle

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
marie-noelle.ohnet@irsn.fr

Sidi Souvi

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
sidi.souvi@irsn.fr

Céline Monsanglant-Louvet

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
celine.monsanglant-louvet@irsn.fr

Florent Louis

Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN), PNS-RES Cadarache, Saint-Paul lez Durance, 13115, France
florent.louis@univ-lille1.fr

Bruno Azambre

LCP-A2MC, University of Lorraine, Institute Jean-Barriol FR2843 CNRS, Rue Victor Demange, 57500 Saint-Avold, France
bruno.azambre@univ-lorraine.fr

Christophe Volkringer

UCCS, UMR CNRS 8181, ENSCL, Université de Lille, 59655 Villeneuve d’Ascq, France
christophe.volkringer@ensc-lille.fr

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4038223 History: Received October 03, 2016; Revised September 22, 2017

Abstract

This paper deals with near past, ongoing and planned R&D works on fission products (FPs) behavior in Reactor Cooling System (RCS), containment building and in Filtered Containment Venting Systems (FCVS) for severe accident (SA) conditions. The FCVS topic, in link with the post-Fukushima accident management, is again on the agenda [1]. All the researches are collaborative works; the overall objective is to develop confident models to be implemented in simulation softwares. After being initiated in the International Source Term Program (ISTP), researches on iodine transport through the RCS are still ongoing and for containment, the last advances are linked to the Source Term Evaluation and Mitigation (STEM) OECD/NEA project. The objective is to improve the evaluation of Source Term for a SA on a nuclear power plant and to reduce uncertainties on specific phenomena dealing with the chemistry of two major FPs: iodine and ruthenium. A follow-up, called STEM2 has just started to reduce some remaining issues and be closer to reactor conditions. For FCVS works, the efficiencies for trapping iodine covering scrubbers and dry filters are examined to get a clear view of their abilities in SA conditions. Another part is focused on specific porous materials able to trap volatile iodine. Influence of zeolites materials parameters (nature of the counter-ions, structure, Si/Al ratio...) will be tested. New kind of porous materials constituted by Metal organic Frameworks will also be looked at because they can constitute a promising way of trapping.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In