0
research-article

Testing of Scintillation detectors in Quasi Monoenergetic Neutron Spectra in a Silicon Filtered Neutron Beam at the LVR-15 Research Reactor

[+] Author and Article Information
Michal Kostal

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
michal.kostal@cvrez.cz

Zdenek Matej

Masaryk University, Botanická 15, Brno 612 00, Czech Republic
matej.zdenek@gmail.com

Filip Mravec

Masaryk University, Botanická 15, Brno 612 00, Czech Republic
filip.mravec@vf.cz

Frantisek Cvachovec

University of Defence, Kounicova 65, Brno 612 00, Czech Republic
frantisek.cvachovec@unob.cz

Martin Schulc

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
martin.schulc@cvrez.cz

Vlastimil Juricek

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
Vlastimil.Juricek@cvrez.cz

Vojtech Rypar

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
Vojtech.Rypar@cvrez.cz

Jaroslav Šoltés

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
Jaroslav.Soltes@cvrez.cz

Evzen Losa

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
evzen.losa@cvrez.cz

Ladislav Viererbl

Research Center Rez Ltd, 250 68 Husinec-Rez 130, Czech Republic
Ladislav.Viererbl@cvrez.cz

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4043197 History: Received July 19, 2018; Revised March 11, 2019

Abstract

With increasing needs of neutron detection in energy and homeland security sectors, there is the aim in the development of new suitable detection materials with possible n/g separation and also satisfactory resolution. This issue is connected with a well-defined neutron field. The only neutron standards 252Cf(s;fiss) and 235U(nth;fiss) have smooth spectra, thus tests in these fields can be used for testing of neutron gamma pulse shape discrimination, but cannot reveal possible problems in the deconvolution. New neutron field which is formed from fission spectrum filtered by 1 m thick silicon block was developed in Research Centre Rez. Due to the course of the silicon cross section, the well distinguished neutron peaks occur in filtered neutron spectrum. In this field, various scintillation materials, HIDEX Aqualight and EJ299-33A were tested.

Copyright (c) 2019 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In