0
research-article

Assessment of the TRACE Code for the He-Cooled Systems Simulation Capability Against Some He-FUS3 Experimental Measurements

[+] Author and Article Information
Guido Mazzini

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
Guido.Mazzini@cvrez.cz

Milos Kyncl

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
Milos.Kyncl@cvrez.cz

Marek Ruscak

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
marek.ruscak@cvrez.cz

Miroslav Hrehor

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
Miroslav.Hrehor@cvrez.cz

Alis Musa

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
alis.musa@cvrez.cz

Antonio Dambrosio

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
antonio.dambrosio@cvrez.cz

Vincenzo Romanello

Centrum Vyzkumu Řež (CVŘ), Hlavní 130, 250 68 Husinec - Řež, Czech Republic
vincenzo.romanello@cvrez.cz

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4043377 History: Received September 13, 2018; Revised March 29, 2019

Abstract

This paper focuses on the TRACE code assessment for helium cooled systems thermal-hydraulic analysis. In the frame of the GoFastR (Gas Cooled Fast Reactor) European Collaborative Project, ENEA has offered some selected experimental data for the organization of a benchmark exercise aimed at the validation of the system and CFD codes for the gas reactor transient analyses. One of the Research Center Rež teams participated to it with a CFD code application. Now, the experimental data are used in order to assess the TRACE code for the ongoing High Temperature Helium Loop (HTHL-2) licensing process. The results of the TRACE calculations agreed very well with the experimental measurements (often within the experimental uncertainties) data provided by the He-FUS3 facility, indicating that the code, despite developed for water coolant applications, if an appropriately tuned input is adopted, it can be also suitable for reasonably accurate gas technology thermohydraulic simulations.

Copyright (c) 2019 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In